Images of Woodford County Wills, Estates, Inventories, Guardianships, Marriages

Woodford County was formed from part of Fayette County, Virginia in 1788. It was named for General William Woodford of the American Revolutionary War who died while a prisoner of war in 1780. Scott County was formed from part of the county in 1792 and Franklin County took another part in 1794.

Images of Wills, Estates, Inventories, Guardianships, Marriages available to members of Kentucky Pioneers


  • 1789 to 1799

Indexes to Wills, Estates, Inventories, Guardianships

  • Book A, 1789 to 1815
  • Book B, 1796 to 1807
  • Book C, 1806 to 1812
  • Book C, 1812 to 1815

Book B, 1796 to 1807

Beavis, William Beazley, Benjamin Beazley, Benjamin (2) Black, Joseph Brumley, Daniel Cavander, Daniel Cavender, Dozier Clay, Peter Craig, Toliver Cramer, Henry Jr. Dale, Alse Davison, Joseph Davison, Robert Dickerson, William Driskell, Timothy Dupuy, Bartholomew Elliott, Robert Field, Henry Glenn, Tyre Hamilton, Samuel Harber, Amos Harbison, David Heter, James Sr. Hoblet, Michael Hollingsworth, John Howard, John Jack, Patrick Jack, Samuel Jake, John Johnson, Joseph Kirtley, William Lee, John Long, James Long, John McBridge, James McClary, James McDugle, Charles Mitchel, Rosanna Moore, John Pryor, Luke Ratliff, Thomas Redding, Isaac Reeves, Thomas Ruddle, Stephen Sample, John Samuel, John Scroggins, Robert Sharper, Thomas Shaw, William Smith, Elijah Stephenson, John Stone, Sebastian Strange, John Attaway Strange, John Sullinger, Thomas Taylor, John Thompson, Anthony Thompson, Elizabeth Thompson, Sarah Trimble, James Tull, Hardy Williams, John Wilson, Joseph

Book C, 1806 to 1812

Adair, Samuel Binns, Charles Blackford, Isaiah Bland, Donald Blanton, Benjamin Blanton, John Blanton, Nancy Bowdry, James Bowdry, Samuel Bridgeford, William Burbridge, Benjamin Carpenter, Francis Cavender, Thomas Clarke, Mildred Combs, Asa Cook, Horace Cook, Jesse Cooke, Charlotte Cox, Samuel Cox, Thomas Cuddy, William Daler, Catesby Dickey, James Elliston, Robert Field, Henry Francis, Andrew Francisco, George Gains, James Gain, John Garnett, James Garnett, Thomas Gatewood, Charles Gay, Robert Gerrald, Jane Gerrel, Mary Gill, Spencer Glenn, Tyre Green, James Griffin, William Guin, Peter Gunby, Elizabeth Hammond, James Hammond, John Harper, Jacob Hicks, Henry Howard, Thomas Jarrel, Jinney Jones, Charles Kelly, Samuel Kirtley, Elliott Kirtley, William Leach, Charles Lee, John Liggett, James Lockridge, Robert Marshall, John McCracken, Cyrus Meek, Charles Minter, Jane Minter, Joseph Mitchell, Robert Mitchell, Rosanna Morton, John Moss, John Sr. Muter, George Poor, Thomas Rankin, Thomas Read, John Redd, Mordecai Reed, Leonard Richards, Philemon Rodgers, Turner Rowland, David Rucker, John Samuel, John Scott, Francis Scott, William Sellers, John Shaw Daniel Smith, Elijah Smith, Frederick Smith, John Stevenson, James Stevenson, William Stone, Sebastian Strother, William Sullenger, Thomas Sullinger, Thomas Sutow, Andrew Tillory, Fortunatus Violet, Thomas Wake, John Walker, John Watkins, John Webb, Aaron Williams, John Williams, William Wooldridge, Isaac Worsham, Robert Young, John

Book D, 1812 to 1815

Ancell, William Atwood, Robert Atwood, William Ball, William Beacham, Edward Berry, Samuel Beazley, Charles Beazley, Edmund Bell, Thomas Blanton, James Boone, Isaac Bowdrey, Samuel Bowers, Josiah Bridgeford, William Brown, Wilson Burbridge, Benjamin Campbell, George Carrell, William Cole, Richard Cooper, Thomas Crittendon, John Dale, Fortuitus Davis, John Deadman, Nathan Dearington, Michael Egbert, Delaney Edwards, Benjamin Edwards, John Edwards, Thomas Furr, Stephen Gains, William Garnett, JamesGarnett, Thomas Gatewood, Charles Gill, Spencer Green, John Gregory, Abraham Griffin, WilliamHiatt, Lewis Hicks, William Holeman, Isaac Hudson, John Hunter, Samuel Jinkins, Ezekiel Kenneday, William Kidd, William Lamkin, James Lee, John Marshall, Thomas McCracken, Cyrus McCracken, Virgil McDowell, Joseph McIlvane, William McKee, Robert Minter, Jane Minter, Joseph and JaneMitchel, NathanielMoore, Charles Nall, William Obannon, John Payne, Mary Peart, Francis Peters, Nimrod Pew, James Poor, Thomas Railey, Isham Ratcliff, Thomas Read, Hankerson Redd, Spencer Redd, Thomas Redman, Joseph Rennick, James Rennick, Robert Rice, Richard Ross, Andrew Samuel, Anthony Shouse, Adam Stansbury, Thomas Stucker, George Sublett, John Sullinger, Thomas Summers, Thomas Todd, William Trabue, Edward Turnham, Thomas Usleton, John Wake, John Wallace, Caleb Walton, John Wilhite, Elijah Williams, William Wilson, Archibald Wooldridge, Elisha Woolfolk, John Worsham, Robert Young, Richard

Book A, 1789-1815

Allison, CharlesAllison, John Bailey, Samuel Beasley, George Bell, Thomas Case, Samuel Cavender, Dozier Cook, Jesse Cox, Samuel Curry, John Davison, Robert Driskell, Timothy Egbert, Laurence Edwards, Uriah Elam, John Fulton, William Grant, Samuel Grimsted, William Haden, William Harris, Harrison Hastings, William Hatton, Robert Hatton, William Haynes, Elijah Helder, Hanna Holeman, Henry Jack, Francis Jackson, William Jamerson, James January, Peter Johnson, Joseph Johnson, Thomas Major, William Martin, William McBride, James; McCharge, Robert McCrackin, Cyrus McNeal, Thomas Morris, Andrew J. Morris, Burkeley Nash, John Pemberton, Charles Proctor, John Rice, George Richards, Philemon Roberts, William Sample, John Samuel, Jesse Searcy, Bartlett Smith, Thomas Sneed, Fielding Sullinger, Thomas Thompson, Anthony Todd, Robert Tucker, Robert West, Edward Wooldridge, Edward

Taylor Distillery

Old Taylor Bourbon whiskey is produced in Frankfort, Kentucky by the Sazerac Company and was named for Colonel Edmund Haynes Taylor, the famous distiller. Actually, the premium brand Colonel E. H. Taylor is also produced. Colonel Taylor was born in Columbia, Kentucky in 1832 and made a career of distilling whiskey. Interestingly enough, Colonel Taylor was the grand-nephew of General Zachary Taylor of the Mexican-American War. Stamped on the flasks is the statement ” General Taylor Never Surrenders”

Offutt-Cole Tavern

The Offut-Cole Tavern is located at the corner of Old Frankfort Pike and US-62 in Midway, Kentucky. The log portion of the structure dates to the 1780s and 1790s. Major John Lee, one of the early founders of Woodford County, resided in this tavern and developed it as such. He eventually leased the premises to John Kennedy and William Dailey and from there it became a stagecoach stop along the toll road from Lexington to Frankfort.